An Interview With Fantastic Author, Andrew Joyce

Q: Hi Andrew, I hope your days going good 

I can’t complain. Well, I could and I do, but it doesn’t do any good. 

Q: I’ve heard you live in a beautiful marina, what a lovely place to spend your days! 

I don’t know how beautiful it is, but it’s on the water. I like living on the water. When it’s windy you get rocked to sleep just like when you were a baby. 

Q: Does Danny get seasick by any chance? 

Danny is an old salty dog. He has his sea legs—sometimes even better than me. 

Q: When did you publish your first book and how long did it take? 

I published my first book in 2013. With the writing, editing, and finding an agent, it took about nine months. Since then each of my books take about a year of my time. That’s writing, editing, and marketing. 

Q: Does Danny review your books after you’re finished them? 

I couldn’t write a book without Danny’s help. His syntax so much better than mine. 

Q: What’s Danny’s favourite movie? 

Lassie Comes Home. 

Q: Did Danny get his hotdog today? 

Danny gets his hotdog every day or there’s hell to pay! 

Q: Are you happier now with what you produce? 

I’ve grown as a writer, but I’m never happy because I’m always comparing myself to John Steinbeck. I think he was the best writer that every lived. 

Q: How hard was it to get published? 

I queried 3,000 agents! Ten hours a day, seven days a week it was go through the lists, get their emails, cut and paste my letter, and then send it out. One full year!!! 

I was pushing my first book, a 164,000 word mess. It was a good story, but I had no concept of proper editing. Anyway, I was told time and time again that anything over 80,000 words for a first time author was heresy. Finally, I got pissed off and sat down and wrote an 80,000 novel just as a big FU. Then I sent out queries. Lo and behold, within a month I had a contract with one of the biggest agencies in the country. 

By the way, a query is a letter you send to agents telling them about your book and hoping they’ll be interested enough to ask for a sample (a few chapters). Then you hope they’ll love it so much that they’ll sign you to a contract and then go out and sell your book to a big publishing house and come back with a check for a million dollars.  

Q: How did you come up with the ideas for your first book? 

I had just finished reading Mark Twain’s Huckleberry Finn for the third time, and I started thinking about what ever happened to those boys, Tom and Huck. They must have grown up, but then what? So I sat down at my computer, banged out Redemption: The Further Adventures of Huck Finn and Tom Sawyer in two months. 

Q: Have you a favourite choice of your books? 

I think the best book that I have written so far is Resolution: Huck Finn’s Greatest Adventure. 

Q: Who’s your inspiration? 

John Steinbeck, Louis L’Amour, Jack London, and Robert B. Parker among others. 

Q: What do you do in your spare time? 

Take walks with Danny 

Q: Was your literary journey worth all the effort? 

Sure it was. I had nothing else to do. 

Q: Thanks so much for answering these questions today. I hope you enjoy the rest of your evening! 

Thank you for having me over and Danny says hi. 

 

Andrew Joyce lives on a boat in a beautiful marina with his canine companion and sidekick, Danny the dog. They both have their own blogs and they would more than love if you could check them out! Thanks for reading this interview! Bye for now!
~AoibhaWalsh2017

 

Danny Looking Good.jpg
All paws on deck for Andrew’s fabulous canine sidekick, Danny!
Andrew Working.jpg
Andrew Joyce working

 

 

Published by

Aoibha Walsh

I'm a girl with a passion for reading and writing and going on all sorts of treks and adventures.

21 thoughts on “An Interview With Fantastic Author, Andrew Joyce”

    1. Zoe, Zoe, I know you have more feelings for Danny, his being your favorite four-legged, than you do for his human Andrew. But really, this interview was Andrew’s time. I have it from a great source that Danny’s is coming soon….and like you, I can’t wait to read what the little bugger has to say!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

