Global Warming

Last night as I turned off my bedside light and put away my book to go to sleep, it occurred to me what might happen if I left it on for a recurring amount of time. My thoughts instantly went to global warming. I wondered how much damage us humans are inflicting every single day of our lives endangering amazing landscapes, peoples homes, igloos, natural habitats and the animals that live in them. One breed of animal that’s been terribly affected by global warming is the polar bear. Polar bears depend on ice glaciers for catching their prey, not to mention, needing them to sleep and hibernate.

As I thought more, I began to think about the damage we are doing to Earth. I looked up a picture of earth from around two-hundred-million years ago. This is what I found and you will not believe it.

imagesB8O0NZ25.jpgNow, I know two-hundred-million years is a long time and of course there is going to be some changes to the earth since then but you have to remember, this is around when the first human descendants evolved. With no machinery and just using the natural elements of their surroundings to live and hunt, they barely left a scratch on the world. It gave me a shock to look at the world now.

earth pollution.pngI know the first picture was animated. There was hardly dinosaurs roaming around space with cameras around their necks taking pictures of Earth. But, that’s what Earth would have looked like back then. I couldn’t believe the amount of deforestation, pollution and destruction there is in the photo above compared to the first. I was really shocked. From that moment on, I realised what pollution really was and how much damage it has inflicted. I have always recycled the recyclable and have turned off lights and switches when I can. I hope that Earth won’t look like this forever. We could change it again. I really hope so. Please let me know what you think! Bye for now!
~Aoibha xx

Published by

Aoibha Walsh

I'm a girl with a passion for reading and writing and going on all sorts of treks and adventures.

2 thoughts on “Global Warming”

Leave a Reply

