Reading And Creative Pastimes

For starters, reading is like mindfulness for me. You forget everything and get indulged in the adventure and sometimes the danger that the character your reading about is in. Sometimes, I get so caught up in the story that I finish the book and I realise I’m lying on my bed, in my house and everything is the way it was before. Nothing moved, everything is still. I sometimes feel like I’ve climbed into the land the book is situated in and have become part of the adventure too.

At the moment, I’m reading a book called, ‘The Dark Calling,’ by Darren Shan. It’s the first horror book I’ve ever read and I’ve learned the hard way not to read it right before you sleep. I was up all night with nightmares but each time I woke up I was laughing my head off for some particular reason…. but anyway, enough of my weird dream updates, we’ll get to them another day.

What are your views on reading? After reading a book, I usually write on my blog (the one you’re currently reading!) or write an epilogue to the story. I have to say, this in many forms has helped my writing over the years. So has writing in my diaries. I hope you like reading as much as I do. Even if it’s just exploring short stories on WordPress or other blogs. See you soon!

~Aoibha xx

Published by

Aoibha Walsh

I'm a girl with a passion for reading and writing and going on all sorts of treks and adventures.

8 thoughts on “Reading And Creative Pastimes”

  1. I also love to read, Aoibha; used to be, as they say, an “avid” reader. Not as much lately, as time gets away from me with other things in play, including editing and painting and, until very recently, my full time job. And can’t forget the computer, social media and all that. Something I wish I never started. Still, I have piles of books everywhere and I swear one day I will get to every one of them.

    Like

  2. I have to alternate between fiction and non-fiction because I get so involved in the characters and stories in novels I have to mourn after the book that I don’t get to be with them everyday. I like to read everyday so this works for me. I totally understand!

    Like

  3. As I have a book blog I am quite the avid reader. I enjoy diving into a book and into other worlds which is why fantasy is my favorite genre. It is great when books can make you gasp out loud and such things.

    Like

Leave a Reply

