Diaries

As I climbed into bed tonight, I went searching for my book of which I am reading at the moment. As I desperately searched for it, I found an old diary. I must have filled about two-hundred pages in it. I was delighted and began to read it. I included a date of when I started it. Friday November 16th 2015 at 21:22. I used to always include the date and time of when I first started recording in my diaries.

The first page was all about going to school and how I despised it so much back then. School is totally different now and I love it. I was also writing about how much I hated pancakes. I laughed at that. I was desperately complaining about how the pancakes turned out all dry and crispy. I would have loved to have seen my face a few minutes ago! As I frantically read through it, I began to compare my problems to the ones I have now. Things have totally changed in good and bad ways.

I remember finding another diary of mine about a year ago. As some of you may already know, I have a condition called, type one diabetes which is where the pancreas dis-functions. I wrote a few pages talking about being in the hospital and being very upset that I had to have injections every day of my life. It was quite a sad time for all of us. Yet, I was only six years old back then.

In relation to my last post of which I called, ‘Pause’, I realised diaries can bring back some memories from the past without you wishing you were back there and then. You can read them like a book and be still focusing on the present. But enough of that.

I’ve recorded a lot of my life on diaries and it’s definitely helped a lot. It can bring some old memories of which you have forgotten back to life. It’s also hilarious to read back over some of which you wrote when you were younger, which I’m doing right now. Have a great night guys! I’ll see you tomorrow!

~Aoibha xx

 

Published by

Aoibha Walsh

I'm a girl with a passion for reading and writing and going on all sorts of treks and adventures.

Leave a Reply

