The Mayan Calendar

Today I was reading a book in my room. It was on of those books with lots of information and facts. One of the chapters was about the Mayan Calendar. I was infatuated about the fact that lots of people thought that the world was going to end on December 21st 2012. Until today, I never even knew what a Mayan calendar was.

Of course, the world did not end on that December night unless we were brainwashed by aliens and are now ghosts. Highly unlikely. I kept reading on and read more. Scientists did more research into this phenomenon after nothing happened. They were saying things like, ‘perhaps we got it wrong and it was the end of the old world and a new earth was born.’ I’m not entirely sure about this. We have one world in the universe that we can live on so far and Earth is the name of it as most of us know.

This leaves me very unsettled. When will the end of the world be? With the way things are going now, no one clearly knows. Perhaps it was the beginning of the end. Perhaps the end of the beginning. Were the Mayans trying to send a message to us by ending their calendar on the 21st of December? Or was it that they just could not carry it on anymore.

I could go on about this forever. The topic is never ending really. It’s entirely up to what you think I suppose. Let me know what you think. Bye for now!

~Aoibha xx

Published by

Aoibha Walsh

I'm a girl with a passion for reading and writing and going on all sorts of treks and adventures.

Leave a Reply

